The smoker's blues

Publié le par lametamorphosedelalibellule.over-blog.com

Romy-Schneider-1.jpg

 

 

 

So many odd things I have done,

So many things I thought I knew,

But what do I know now ?

 

Not a thing's like it used to be,

I thought I could be in control...

I've been put on parole !

 

Much much too long since that promise,

And not the slimmest glimpse of bliss,

Only an old disease.

 

So many things I thought I knew,

So many odd things I have done,

But what do I know now ?

 

Not a thing seems to be familiar,

Except I have been called a liar,

So what shall I do now ?

 

I shouldn't be smoking at all,

I should be kind, I should stand tall,

But what good am I now ?

 

When I cling on my cigarette,

When I wish that I could forget,

I'm feeling remorse now.

 

Wonder where this night will take me,

Wonder when I'll be truly free,

But the rain won't stop now !

 

Somewhere there must be a rainbow,

A ray of sunshine, let me glow,

Or where will I go now ?

 

Summertime is a mistery,

And I must learn from history,

Roses are in bloom now !

 

So many odd things I have done,

So many things I knew would come,

But what do I know now ?

 

I know that I nearly can't breathe,

This opportunity's to seize,

I should know better now !

 

Antoine Burgos

Le  7 Août 2012

Publié dans Poèmes divers

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article